Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

I wish I had a REAL C64

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

slickcoder
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:09 am

I wish I had a REAL C64

Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:15 am

I have your application, and I can't figure out what good it is... it seems to just be a frontend to a database of games with no real functionality.

I have VICE as well. I can't get it to load anything.

I attach a .D64 image to drive 8, and I type:

LOAD "$",8,1

and it displays garbage ... Total garbage. I was 7 the last time I messed with this, and it was a LOT easier on the real machine... a little help?
Slickcoder
merman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Contact:
Location: Skegness, UK
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 4:02 pm

Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:45 am

Have you setup the frontend completely? With all the game ZIP files?

If you don't have the games, nothing will happen.


Gamebase will unZIP the game, start the emulator automatically and RUN the game for you. If you need to restart a game, in VICE you go File > Auto-start disk image and you should be in the ReZip directory where Gamebase stores the files...
User avatar
Mayhem
GB64 Team
Contact:
Location: Londonish
Posts: 793
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:44 am

Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:24 am

Also the fact that you may have gotten the directory command and the boot first file on disk commands muddled together ;)

Load directory - LOAD"$",8:LIST
Load first file - LOAD"*",8,1
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
Gu
Guest

Mon May 30, 2005 2:17 pm

got one if u want
User avatar
J2003C
GB64 Team
Location: Just South of Hell
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 7:57 pm

Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:26 am

The real C64 is easier than an emulator (VICE)?
In the attach image window of VICE (ALT+8), you can double-click the C64 file you want to run, and it does so automatically. That's a lot easier than typing
LOAD"$",8
LIST
LOAD"THIS IS SLOW",8,1
RUN
-J2010C-
Gu
Guest

Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:58 am

J2003C wrote:The real C64 is easier than an emulator (VICE)?
In the attach image window of VICE (ALT+8), you can double-click the C64 file you want to run, and it does so automatically. That's a lot easier than typing
LOAD"$",8
LIST
LOAD"THIS IS SLOW",8,1
RUN
You mean you didn't have a power cartridge ? :P
User avatar
J2003C
GB64 Team
Location: Just South of Hell
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 7:57 pm

Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:51 pm

Anonymous wrote:You mean you didn't have a power cartridge ? :P
Oh,that's right:
C=+Shift to get directory
(Hope it doesn't scroll off the top of the screen)
CRSR arrow up 20 times
CRSR arrow right 25 times
type ,8,1
CRSR arrow down 20 times
typw RUN

That's was much easier than 3 mouse clicks! (did you hear the sarcasm?)
-J2010C-

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests