Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Issues updating from v15 to v16

Are you having problems setting up GB64 on your machine? Ask your questions in here!

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
Andyman
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:10 pm

Issues updating from v15 to v16

Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:10 pm

My apologies in advance if this is stupid-obvious and I'm just blind...

There's gotta be something dumb I'm missing in this process, but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere. I've managed to get everything for v16 in the proper place and my paths are correct, but despite running the emus wizard, I can't get even one game to load. I'm stumped.

Is there a best-practice or how-to document that lays out the proper way to move on to a new version? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
User avatar
.mad.
Honoured Member
Honoured Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Issues updating from v15 to v16

Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:49 am

If you are trying to setup a NEW emulator version / latest beta.
The setup wizard will not find it.
so the PLAY GAME button will be greyed out.

you will need to setup the emulator manually.
This is a lot easier than you think.

download this emualtor...
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=181167
extract it to your GBC_v16 \ emulator folder.

C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\emulator\WinVICE\

create or edit the emulators.ini file so the paths are correct to the emulator EXE files.
C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\emulators.ini

Code: Select all

[Emulators]
1=WinVICE
2=WinVICE SCPU
3=WinVICE SC
4=

[WinVICE]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=CRT;REU;G64;D64;TAP;T64;P00;PRG;REU
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\emulator\WinVICE\x64.exe
ScriptFile=VICE3.txt
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
1=

[WinVICE SC]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=CRT;REU;G64;D64;TAP;T64;P00;PRG;REU
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\emulator\WinVICE\x64sc.exe
ScriptFile=VICE3.txt
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
1=

[WinVICE SCPU]
UseShortFilenames=1
SupportedTypes=D81;D64;CRT;REU
EmulatorPathFile=C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\emulator\WinVICE\xscpu64.exe
ScriptFile=VICE3.txt
UseDefaultTypes=0
WaitFinish=1
1=
If you keep the folder names short and simple, any new version of WinVICE can be copied over into that folder.

Once all the game , extras, music, screen paths are confirmed to be correct.

paths.ini

Code: Select all

[Games]
1=C:\GameBase\gb64v16\Games
2=
[Pictures]
1=C:\GameBase\gb64v16\Screenshots
2=
[Extras]
1=C:\GameBase\gb64v16\Extras
2=
[Misc]
Music=C:\GameBase\gb6416\C64Music
check the script file is in this directory...
C:\GameBase\GBC_v16\Scripts\VICE3.txt
and is posted below.

run Gamebase and select Verify Available Files... from the Tools Menu.
Last edited by .mad. on Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Andyman
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:10 pm

Re: Issues updating from v15 to v16

Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:27 pm

Hey thanks for the detailed reply, but I spy something odd right away - my VICE3.txt looks nothing like that:

Code: Select all

;********************************
;*        VICE v3+ series       *
;*                              *
;* WinVICE v3.0 x86             *
;* WinVICE v3.1 x86             *
;* WinVICE v3.2 x86 r34842      *
;* WinVICE v3.2 SCPU-x86 r34842 *
;*                              *
;*         GEMUS Script         *
;*      (c)  The GB64 Team      *
;*       25th August 2019       *
;********************************
; This script uses commandline functions, which are available in the v3.0+ versions of VICE.
; All other options will be the internal VICE defaults.
;
;  Optional files (1): .\ROMs\JiffyDOS_1581.bin - speed up loading in MetalDust SCPU.
; To use any foreign character ROM sets in VICE.
; Just place them in the .\GBC_v16\ROMs\ folder and set the GEMUS.
;--------------------------------------------------------
Clear_CLP()
;--------------------------------------------------------
; These are the only known C64 roms with custom characters i could find.
; SWE - Swedish, TUR - Turkish, DAN - Danish, SPA - Spanish, GER - German, JAP - Japanese.

 If key_rom CONTAINS(SWE||DAN||TUR||SPA||GER||JAP||*)
 	If QUESTION(Do you have the %rom_value% KERNAL and CHAR ROMs in the%crlf% %dbpath%\ROMs\%rom_value%\ folder?%crlfx2%The emulator will not work if you lie.) = YES
 	Add_CLP( -kernal "%dbpath%\ROMs\%rom_value%\KERNAL.ROM")
 	Add_CLP( -chargen "%dbpath%\ROMs\%rom_value%\CHAR.ROM")
 	Else
 	End If
End If
;-------------------------------------------------------

; The GameBase game path will be the first folder openend when looking for side 'B'.
; TAPE DIR not compatible with SDL2VICE, GTK3VICE, SCPU.
Add_CLP( -initialdiskdir "%gamepath%")

;old v2.4 commandline works!
ADD_CLP( +confirmexit)

ADD_CLP( +saveres)

; stop sound buffer overflow crash (default value 100 is to low)
Add_CLP( -soundbufsize 350)

; keyboard [positional]
Add_CLP( -keymap 1)

; Virtual Disks will not load without a Virtual Device (Disk Drive).
Add_CLP( -virtualdev)

; No crappy CRT graphic filter.
Add_CLP( -VICIIfilter 0)

If key_aspect CONTAINS(real)
; 2 = true aspect (slighlty squashed screen).
Add_CLP( -trueaspect)
Else
; 0 = screen aspect (wider screen for pixel sharp image).
Add_CLP( +trueaspect)
End if

; Start at normal 100% speed
Add_CLP( +warp)

;Specify SID engine and model (0: FastSID 6581, 1: FastSID 8580, 256: ReSID 6581, 257: ReSID 8580, 258: ReSID 8580 + digiboost, 512: Catweasel, 768: HardSID, 1024: ParSID in par port 1, 1280: ParSID in par port 2, 1536: ParSID in par port 3, 1792: SSI2001)

If Key_SID CONTAINS(0||1||256||257||258||512||768||1024||1280||1536||1792)
Add_CLP( -sidenginemodel %sid_value%)
Else
;SID 6581 (default)
Add_CLP( -sidenginemodel 0)
End If

   If Key_fullscreen CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
      Add_CLP( -fullscreen)
 End If

   ;do we want a PAL or NTSC setup?
	If PalNTSC = NTSC
	 Add_CLP( -ntsc)
	 Else
	 Add_CLP( -pal)
	End If

; --\/-- start of cut --\/--

; modify or delete this section if you want your own Joypad settings.
; Enable Joystick controller to PORT#, for what is set in the GameBase tab.
; This may not always be set correctly in GameBase.

  ;0=None, 1=Numpad + RCtrl, 2=Keset A, 3=Keyset B, 4+ are for real joysticks/pads

  ; Selecting "4" or "5" will crash the emulator if you haven't got a USB Joystick attached in your PC.
  ; so we must check for user input in global kv-keyset in RIGHT GEMUS window (F2):.
  ; REALJOYSTICK1=YES
  ; REALJOYSTICK2=YES

	If Control = JoyPort2
;------------------------------------
         If Key_realjoystick1 CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
            Add_CLP( -joydev2 4)
;------------------------------------
         Else
            Add_CLP( -joydev2 1)
         End If
         If NumPlayers > 1
;------------------------------------
            If Key_realjoystick2 CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
               Add_CLP( -joydev1 5)
;------------------------------------
            Else
               Add_CLP( -joydev1 2)
            End If
         Else
            Add_CLP( -joydev1 0)
         End If
         
      ElseIf Control = JoyPort1
;------------------------------------
         If Key_realjoystick1 CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
            Add_CLP( -joydev1 4)
;------------------------------------
         Else
            Add_CLP( -joydev1 1)
         End If
         If NumPlayers > 1
;------------------------------------
            If Key_realjoystick2 CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
               Add_CLP( -joydev2 5)
;------------------------------------
            Else
               Add_CLP( -joydev2 2)
            End If
         Else
            Add_CLP( -joydev2 0)
         End If
	
	ElseIf Control = Keyboard
	; you might still want a real joystick mapped?
	; But not in port #1 for the obvious reason.
	; and definitely no conflicting joykeymaps.
	If Key_realjoystick1 CONTAINS(yes||1||on||true)
	Add_CLP( -joydev2 4)
	else
	Add_CLP( -joydev1 0)
	Add_CLP( -joydev2 0)
	End If
	
	Else
	; The setting used for every other controller option.
	; Paddle, Mouse, KoalaPad, LightPen.
	; Joystick in Port #2 - Nothing in port #1
	Add_CLP( -joydev2 4)
	Add_CLP( -joydev1 0)
End If

;--/\--- end of cut --/\--

	If GameType CONTAINS(d81)

	;******************************************************
	; Metal Dust is the only SuperCPU Game in GameBase.
	; SuperCPU ROM v0.05 or higher is required to boot the disk.
	; SuperCPU ROM v0.07 is included in every VICE from v3.0+
	; With "JiffyDOS_1581.bin" you can speed up the loading.
	; Place the "JiffyDOS_1581.bin" in the scripts folder.
	;******************************************************

	If QUESTION(Do you have "JiffyDOS_1581.bin"%crlf% in the %dbpath%\ROMs\ folder?)%crlfx2%Disk will not load if you lie.) = YES
	 Add_CLP( -dos1581 "%dbpath%\ROMs\JiffyDOS_1581.bin")
	 Add_CLP( -jiffyswitch)
		 
		Show_Message(Using JiffyDOS 1581 to speed up the loading.%crlf%Press "8", "J" and ENTER at the menu to load.)
	Else
	Show_Message(No JiffyDOS = Slow loading.%crlf%Press "C" and ENTER at the menu to load.)
End If

; change SCPU version "05" or greater if needed.
		if key_SCPU CONTAINS(05||06||07||*)
	 	Add_CLP( -scpu64 "%dbpath%\ROMs\SCPU64_v%scpu_value%.bin")
		 End If

		Add_CLP( -drive8type 1581)
		Add_CLP( -drive8extend 2)

		Add_CLP( -drive9type 1581)
		Add_CLP( -drive9extend 2)
		
	Add_CLP( -truedrive)
	Add_CLP( -simmsize 16)
	Add_CLP( -speedswitch)
	
	Add_CLP( -fs8 "%gamepath%" -8 "%gamepathfile%")
	Add_CLP( -fs9 "%gamepath%" -9 "%gamepathfile%(1)")
	Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%")
	;********************************************************
	
; EXPERIMENTAL for DOOM.
; Super CPU 16MB and REU 16MB (still only 4 FPS)

	Else If GameType CONTAINS(REU)
	; RAM Expansion Unit files + SPCPU (DOOM)
	Add_CLP( -simmsize 16)
	ADD_CLP( -reu -reusize 16384 +reuimagerw -reuimage "%gamepathfile%" -autostartprgmode 1 -autostart "%gamepath%\loader.prg")

	ElseIf GameType CONTAINS(crt)

		Add_CLP( -drive8type 0)
		
		 ;autostart the cart image
     		 Add_CLP( -cartcrt "%gamepathfile%")
		
     	Else If GameType CONTAINS(tap)
     		
     		;remove disk drive for some tape loader protections.
     			ADD_CLP( -drive8type 0)

     			ADD_CLP( -datasette)
     			
     			;Reset (Auto-rewind) needs to be OFF for compilation tapes.
			ADD_CLP( +dsresetwithcpu)
			
;----------------------------------
; It's now possible to load a TAPE ,1,1 using RUN or SYS from the VICE key buffer.
; the datasette player motor doesn't start without an image name.
; so using keybuf requires you to set the tape deck playing manually.
; this 'hackish' way autoloads the TAP with 1,1.

     		If key_load11 CONTAINS(yes)
     		; LOAD"",1,1:RUN
		
     			If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
     				ADD_CLP( -autoload "%gamepathfile%:"",1,1)
				ADD_CLP( -keybuf sys%sys_value%\n)
			Else
				ADD_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%:"",1,1)
			End If

		ElseIf key_load CONTAINS(manual)
		Add_CLP( -1 "%gamepathfile%")

		Else
     		; wildcard - LOAD: RUN
     		ADD_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%")
     		End If
     		
	Else If GameType CONTAINS(g64)
		
		If Key_drive8type CONTAINS (1542)
			Add_CLP( -drive8type 1542)
			else
			Add_CLP( -drive8type 1541)
		End If
	
			Add_CLP( -drive8extend 2)
	
	; Set TrueDrive Emulation option ON for ALL G64 disks.
	; overrule with vtde=no stored in gemus.

			if key_vtde CONTAINS(no)
			Add_CLP( +truedrive)
			else
	         	Add_CLP( -truedrive)
			End If
		
;----------------------------------
; It's now possible to load a specific game file from a G64 using the VICE key buffer.
; for "*" as the filename use load8=wildcard.
; GEMUS: load8name=filename
;        sys=16384

	If key_load8name CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load8name_value%""",8\nsys%sys_value%\n")
		Else
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load8name_value%""",8\nrun\n")
		End If
	
	ElseIf key_load8 CONTAINS(wildcard)
		;only possible way to load some protected disks. LOAD"*",8:RUN
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""*""",8\nrun\n")
	
	ElseIf key_load81name CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load81name_value%""",8,1\nsys%sys_value%\n")
		Else
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load81name_value%""",8,1\nrun\n")
		End If

	ElseIf key_load CONTAINS(manual)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
	
	Else		
		;no internal image file to select so it's autoboot or nothing.
		Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%")
	End If

     	Else If GameType CONTAINS(t64)
     		Add_CLP( -initialtapedir "%gamepath%")
			Add_CLP( -drive8type 0)
		
		If Key_run CONTAINS(manual)
		; Load but do not run game. This enables adding pokes or listing basic.
		 Add_CLP( -autoload "%gamepathfile%")
		 
		 Else if key_load CONTAINS(wildcard)
		 Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%")
		 
	ElseIf key_load CONTAINS(manual)
		Add_CLP( -1 "%gamepathfile%")

;only for corrupt T64
		 ElseIf key_load1name CONTAINS(*)
		 Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%:%load1name_value%")
		 Else

	; Default setting. Boot tape with internal ImageName stored in GameBase "runnable file".
	 	Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%:%c64imagename%")
	 	End If
 
	ElseIf GameType CONTAINS(d64)
			
		If Key_drive8type CONTAINS (1542)
			Add_CLP( -drive8type 1542)
			else
			Add_CLP( -drive8type 1541)
		End If

			Add_CLP( -drive8extend 2)
	
	; Check if TrueDrive Emulation option is enabled in GameBase Tab.
	; overrule with vtde=yes/no stored in global gemus.
	
		If TrueDriveEmu = YES
			if key_vtde CONTAINS(no)
			Add_CLP( +truedrive)
			else
	         	Add_CLP( -truedrive)
			End If
		ElseIf TrueDriveEmu = NO
			if key_vtde CONTAINS(yes)
			Add_CLP( -truedrive)
			else
			Add_CLP( +truedrive)
			End If 
         	End If
;----------------------------------
; It's now possible to load a specific game file with a system call using the VICE key buffer.
; For protected G64 disks that can not be read from the GameBase file selector.
; To load "*" as the load8name or load81name use load8=wildcard or load=wildcard.
; GEMUS: load8name=name1  - LOAD"name1",8
;        load81name=name2 - LOAD"name2",8,1
;        sys=16384

	If key_load8name CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load8name_value%""",8\nsys%sys_value%\n")

		else if key_doublerun CONTAINS(yes)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load8name_value%""",8\nrun\nrun\n")
		
		Else
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load8name_value%""",8\nrun\n")
		End If
		
	ElseIf key_load8 CONTAINS(wildcard)
		;only possible way to load some protected disks. LOAD"*",8:RUN
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""*""",8\nrun\n")
	    
	ElseIf key_load81name CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load81name_value%""",8,1\nsys%sys_value%\n")
		Else
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%load81name_value%""",8,1\nrun\n")
		End If

	Else if key_sbname CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""simon's basic""",8,1\nrun\nload"""%sbname_value%""",8\nrun\n")

	Else if key_ssb3name CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""ssbasic3""",8,1\nrun\nload"""%ssb3name_value%""",8\nrun\n")
;--------------------------
; Load and RUN ANY 2 files (for some magazine BASIC listings).
; multifile1=rabbyte loader
; multifile2=rabbyte game
;--------------------------
	Else If key_multifile1 CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%multifile1_value%""",8,1\nrun\nload"""%multifile2_value%""",8\nrun\n")
;--------------------------
;========================
	ElseIf key_vicename CONTAINS(*)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "load"""%vicename_value%""",8,1\nrun\n")
		
	ElseIf key_load CONTAINS(manual)
		Add_CLP( -8 "%gamepathfile%")
		
	ElseIf key_load CONTAINS(wildcard)
		;only possible way to load some protected disks. LOAD"*",8,1
		ADD_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%")

	   	Else

	; Default setting. Boot disk with internal ImageName stored in GameBase "runnable file".
  	 Add_CLP( -fs8 "%gamepath%" -8 "%gamepathfile%")
	Add_CLP( -autostart "%gamepathfile%:%c64imagename%")
	
		;================================
		; SYS can be used without LOAD81NAME when only 1 file is on the disk.
		If key_sys CONTAINS(*)
		ADD_CLP( -keybuf-delay 1 -keybuf "sys%sys_value%\n")
		End If
		;================================
	
     End If
   End If

   If VersionComment CONTAINS(*not 100%*||*not working*||*doesn't work*)
      Show_Message(This game may not work properly.)
   End If

   ;show message for the user
   If Key_msg CONTAINS(*)
      Show_Message(%msg_value%)
   End If

; keybuf should be used for all load commands in VICE.
; sendkeys are only required to start the Myth original cartridge.
; typing "SYS 3 MYTH" on the black screen.

If key_sendkeys CONTAINS(sys 3 myth)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([2]%sendkeys_value%||50)

Else If key_load CONTAINS(gamma)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([2]lstart{enter}[1]r||50)

Else
   ;run the emulator
   Run_Emulator()
End If
As a side note, I'm seeing permission and read-only settings all over the place. GBC64 is the only system I've setup from iso... could that be the issue?
User avatar
.mad.
Honoured Member
Honoured Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2256
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Issues updating from v15 to v16

Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:49 pm

Andyman wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:27 pm
Hey thanks for the detailed reply, but I spy something odd right away - my VICE3.txt looks nothing like that:
i didn't post the script, only the "emulators.ini"
your script is correct. ;)

*edited the above post to stop any confusion.
As a side note, I'm seeing permission and read-only settings all over the place. GBC64 is the only system I've setup from iso... could that be the issue?
could be???

The GameBase setup will NOT run from and ISO image.
All the gamebase files must be extracted from the ISO's, into folders on your HD.
User avatar
Andyman
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2019 5:10 pm

Re: Issues updating from v15 to v16

Sat Apr 11, 2020 11:59 pm

Fixed it!

It was a combination of GameBase not playing nice on my F: drive (I reinstalled it to C:) and me missing a couple of setup steps the first time around. All is well now.

Thanks for the help! I appreciate it!

Return to “GB64 Help!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests