Page 1 of 1

Can you use Hoxs64 in GB64?

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:54 pm
by Paul Irvine
Anyone done a script for it?

Tried using the default script but no joy.

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:16 pm
by Pugsy
There was a hoxs64 script in v03, though it seems to have had a lot of work since then so the script may need a bit of work tbco on it - for example hoxs now has t64 support.

Here it is for what it's worth

Code: Select all

;***********************
;* Hoxs64 GEMUS Script *
;*  (c) The GB64 Team  *
;*   2 February 2005   *
;***********************
;
; PLEASE SET YOUR EMULATOR PROPERTIES AS FOLLOWS:
;
; Emulator File: HOXS64.EXE
; Associated Script File (1): SC.EXE or SCMAIN.EXE (optional)
; Use Short Filenames: YES
; File Types: D64;PRG;TAP;P00;(T64)
;
; This script was written for Hoxs64 v1.0.2.6,
; but may work with other versions too.
;
; Emulator Website: http://www.btinternet.com/~hoxs64
;
; "Auto Load" from the menu will work for most D64 and TAP images,
; since the first file is usually the desired file and
; "Auto Load" only works for the first file.
;
; The Star Commander (sc.exe or scmain.exe) is required as a script file
; to convert T64 files into PRG files.  T64s will not work without it.

If GameType CONTAINS(d64||tap||p00||prg||t64)

	;emulator settings are stored in the Windows Registry under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Hoxs64

	If GameType CONTAINS(t64)
		;use Star Commander to extract PRG files from the T64
		Run_Program(1||/cmd copy tape:%gamepathfile%\"%c64imagename%" %gamepath%\gbgame.prg||WAIT)
		Show_Message(You must manually select "Auto Load" from the menu for the file:%crlfx2%%gamepath%\gbgame.prg)
	Else
		;no command line parameters or autoloading features are available
		Show_Message(You must manually select "Auto Load" from the menu for the file:%crlfx2%%gamepathfile%)
	End If

	;There is no Keyboard Joystick (JoyKey) emulation: PC Joysticks are required.

	;unsupported game controls
	If Control = Mouse
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have Mouse emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	ElseIf Control = Lightpen
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have LightPen emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	ElseIf Control = KoalaPad
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have KoalaPad emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	ElseIf Control = LightGun
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have LightGun emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	ElseIf Control = PaddlePort1
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have Paddle emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	ElseIf Control = PaddlePort2
		Show_Message(This emulator does not have Paddle emulation.%crlfx2%This game may be uncontrollable/unplayable.)
	End If

	;give the user a warning message?
	If VersionComment CONTAINS(*use C64S*||*use VICE*||*use CCS*||*use real C64*)
		Show_Message(This game may not work properly with this emulator.%crlfx2%See Version Comment for more info.)
	End If
	If VersionComment CONTAINS(*not 100%*||*not working*||doesn't work*)
		Show_Message(This game may not work properly.)
	End If
	If VersionComment CONTAINS(*PET Emulator*)
		Show_Message(Use PET Emulator to run this game.)
	End If
	If VersionComment CONTAINS(*ATTN:*||*NOTE:*||*ATTN!:*||*NOTE!:*)
		;point out that critical info is in the version comment
		Show_Message(Read this game's Version Comments for very important information/instructions.)
	End If
	If VersionComment CONTAINS(*VIC-20*||*VIC20*)
		If VersionComment CONTAINS(*emulator*)
			Show_Message(Use VIC-20 column Emulator to run this game properly.)
		End If
	End If

	;run the emulator
	Run_Emulator()

Else

	;invalid game file type
	Show_Message(GAME_NOT_SUPPORTED%crlfx2%Supported types: D64, TAP, P00, PRG, (T64))

End If

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 4:59 pm
by Paul Irvine
Ta...Will play...

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:18 pm
by Paul Irvine
Aha...

Seems like there's no way to actually auto run the file in the emulator (which is what I was after). All the script does is bring up the emulator and tell you what file to choose.

Oh well.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:50 pm
by joebucci
Cool! I just downloaded the latest Hox64 emulator hoxs64 1.0.5.17. To my joy, shortcuts can now be made that will allow "Drag & Drop" ability. to Hox!

Seems to run faster too! :D

Thanks David!

JB

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:49 pm
by joebucci
I'm SO glad David added the drag&drop feature! I now use Hox64 much more Frequently. I wish he would add support for a RAM expender, and the 1571 and 1581 drives. NTSC would be a nice addition too!

I'm pretty sure he'll add them. It would then be on par with the VICE emulator... Maybe even better!

Thanks Dave,

Joe Bucci

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:19 pm
by Magnate
NTSC will be added some day. I'm not sure about the other drives, are they required for some game/demo?

Hoxs64 presents a different approach from the other C64 emulators, it attempts to be the best at emulating a plain vanilla C64 + drive. This is the only emulator that is 100% cycle accurate, all middle-line change effects and sprites are fully cycle exact, contrary to CCS64 and VICE. There's a certain number of strange VIC effects which display wrong (or not at all) in VICE or CCS64, but Hoxs64 emulates them correctly. Also, the 8580 SID emulation is much better. VICE on the other hand is, as the name suggests, a versatile emulator with a lot of options and various hardware to play with. It's also much faster if you select less accurate settings (fast sound sampling, etc). I usually go with Hoxs64 since I like to have the emulated C64 resemble a real one as close as possible.

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:22 am
by gklinger
That's the most intelligently succinct post I've seen on the matter in along time, Magnate. Well put.