Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Repacked Gamebase Amiga 2.3 could not determine slave name !

Discuss the Commodore Amiga database that uses the GameBase Frontend.

Moderator: Jimbo

The 80s Fan
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:07 am

Repacked Gamebase Amiga 2.3 could not determine slave name !

Sun Jun 27, 2021 5:08 am

Hello, there.
I just installed (unpacked) the above mentioned gamebase this morning.
Everything runs fine as expected, but when it comes to "whdload", it is always giving me this:

whdrun could not determine the whdload slave name from the specified user startup file

Disk-games ? No problem, but this here...

Checked all possible .inis, seemed to be correct.


Now, what can i do to fix this ?!?!
The 80s Fan
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:07 am

Re: Repacked Gamebase Amiga 2.3 could not determine slave name !

Sun Jun 27, 2021 8:39 am

No idea, anyone ?
I deleted gamebase and re-"installed" it on a another HDD, but the problem persists.
Strange.
My disk-structure:
"K:\EMULATION+GAMES - Teil 2\Portable GameBase Amiga v.2.3 - RePacked, Fixed & Enhanced by cnterr\GameBase", containing "Amiga 2.3" as 1 directory "ahead".

When i open up registed run gamebase und choose the "extra"-button pressing "WHDload",
the error-message appears. In this above mentioned error there is "2/portable" written. Does this mean i must have a 2/portable named folder ?! Dunno, do not have it...
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 2078
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Repacked Gamebase Amiga 2.3 could not determine slave name !

Sun Jun 27, 2021 9:31 am

for WHDRUN to work without any problems on K:.
set the rezip path in GAMEBASE.INI
GBGame=K:\gbgame

*NOT the default K:\gbgame\0\

[Startup]
VersionCheck=0
SendUsageStats=0
[Paths]
GBGame=K:\GBGame

And install Gamebase to the root of your drive
K:\gamebase\

Installing to long folder names with spaces will break it.
It's just how WHDRUN.EXE and GEMUS.DLL are coded to unzip the files.
The 80s Fan
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:07 am

Re: Repacked Gamebase Amiga 2.3 could not determine slave name !

Sun Jun 27, 2021 1:37 pm

Hi, .mad !!
I apologize for my delayed reply, but as a pensioner i do not have time ;-) !!

Now i got that machine up and running after editing the .ini and copying it into root !!!!

Thx alot !!

But my "Gamebase.ini" had already your suggested setting, namely "K:gamebase/...


Anyways: Glad it works now.


Thanks again,

Daniel

Return to “Commodore Amiga - GameBase Amiga”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests