Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Gamebase Oric V3.0

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:51 pm

Oricutron has an excellent keymap feature.

press F1 for main menu.

then select the submenu called "Keyboard options".

In the submenu you can find:
- a toggle that shows/hides the visual keyboard (you can click on the keyboard keys to enter key presses/releases) ;
- a toggle that gets you in the key mapping definition mode (you can then click on a visual keyboard key ; press a real key on your keyboard and the mapping will work) ;
- a toggle that allows mod keys (ctrl, shift, funct) to be sticky (ie you first click on a key to press it and then either re-click it to release it or click on another key and it will generate a modded key press - e.g. a Ctrl-T instead of T - and then auto release the key) ;
- an option to save a keyboard mapping (.kma file) ;
- an option to load a keyboard mapping ;
- an option that resets the keyboard mapping to the default one.

You can also add the following in your oricutron.cfg to autoload a keyboard
mapping (here Test.kma in the keymap directory found in Oricutron's directory):

; automatically load a keyboard mapping file
autoload_keyboard_mapping = 'keymap/Test.kma

or you can edit the Oricutron.cfg with your desired Joy keyset.

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 1
; NOTE: "fire2" is only available on telestrat
kbjoy1_up = 'KP8'
kbjoy1_down = 'KP2'
kbjoy1_left = 'KP4'
kbjoy1_right = 'KP6'
kbjoy1_fire1 = 'KP_ENTER'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'KP_PLUS'

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 2
kbjoy2_up = 'R'
kbjoy2_down = 'F'
kbjoy2_left = 'D'
kbjoy2_right = 'G'
kbjoy2_fire1 = 'I'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'W'
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:31 pm

Hi Mad,

Thanks again for your help. You said to change keys int the oricutron cfg file but what about the script? Do I need to change also there?
There are also different options to set up depending on the machine emulated "none" "altai" "pase" or "ijk".

Here is the script :

;********************************
;* Oricutron GEMUS Script *
;* 23rd August 2012 *
;********************************
;
; PLEASE SET YOUR EMULATOR PROPERTIES AS FOLLOWS:
;
; Emulator File: ORICUTRON.EXE
; Associated Script File (1): Oricutron.cfg
; Use Short Filenames: YES
; File Types: TAP;DSK;WAV
; (Compressed File Types: GZ;Z;BZ2;ZIP;TAR;TZG;ZOO)
;
; This script was written for Oricutron 0.9,
; but may work with other versions too.
;
; YOU MUST PLACE AN [options] SECTION MARKER AT TOP OF ORICUTRON.CFG FILE FOR SCRIPT TO WORK


If Key_version CONTAINS(atmos)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||machine|| atmos)
Else
Set_INI_Value(1||options||machine|| oric1)
End If

If Key_version CONTAINS(telestrat)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||machine|| telestrat)
End If

If Key_version CONTAINS(pravetz)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||machine|| pravetz)
End If



If GameType CONTAINS(tap||wav)
Add_CLP(-t%gamepathfile%)
End If

If GameType CONTAINS(Dsk)
Add_CLP(-d%gamepathfile%)
End If

; Render mode (soft, opengl)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||rendermode|| soft)

; Show scanlines? (yes/no)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||scanlines|| no)

; Horizontal stretch? (yes/no) <-- opengl only
Set_INI_Value(1||options||hstretch|| no)

; PAL ghosting? (yes/no) <-- opengl only
Set_INI_Value(1||options||palghost|| no)

; Start fullscreen?
Set_INI_Value(1||options||fullscreen|| no)

; Lightpen (yes/no)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||lightpen|| no)

; Joystick interface for Atmos/Oric-1 mode. Telestrat has its own built-in standard.
; Options are 'none', 'altai', 'pase' or 'ijk'
Set_INI_Value(1||options||joyinterface|| altai)

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the above interface
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN' (where n is 0 to 9)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||joystick_a|| kbjoy1)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||joystick_b|| none)

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the telestrat
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN', 'mouse'
Set_INI_Value(1||options||telejoy_a|| kbjoy1)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||telejoy_b|| none)

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 1
; NOTE: "fire2" is only available on telestrat
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy1_up|| 'KP8')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy1_down|| 'KP2')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy1_left|| 'KP4')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy1_right|| 'KP6')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy1_fire1|| 'KP_ENTER')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_fire2|| 'KP_PLUS')

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 2
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_up|| 'W')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_down|| 'S')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_left|| 'A')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_right|| 'D')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_fire1|| 'SPACE')
Set_INI_Value(1||options||kbjoy2_fire2|| 'N')



If Key_pravetz CONTAINS(cload)
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([3]cload""{enter}||60)

Else

Run_Emulator()

End If
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:25 pm

with that setup you will ONLY need to edit the script.

make sure you have latest version of emulator Oricutron 1.2. (clean install).

edit the oricutron.cfg file.
add "[options]" to the top line and save it.

Code: Select all

&#91;options&#93;
;
; Example config file for Oricutron
;

;                 ----------------------------------
if you want two keyboard mapped joysticks, edit this...
Set_INI_Value(1||options||joystick_a|| kbjoy1)
Set_INI_Value(1||options||joystick_b|| kbjoy2)


NOTE:
make sure you leave the SPACE after the double pipe "||" before your key choice 'A'.
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:44 pm

Hi Mad,

Many thanks I will give this a try as soon as possible and let you know. Yes I do have Oricutron 1.2 and I think it may be the Options flag missing in the script file.

Thanks
Rick
:)
repetto74
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:42 pm

Hi Mad,

Million thanks again you saved my day! :D All is working now and can use the cab joystick to play with Oric games :wink:
User avatar
OX
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:26 pm

Are you still working on the final update to Gamebase Oric Tubbs?
Tubbs3622
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:24 am

Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:10 pm

Slowly but surely! There will be a final release of this Gamebase hopefully sometime this year but if not then next year at the latest. I've had very little time to work on it recently but keep adding things whenever I get the chance.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:28 pm

download link by request...
Oric v3.0 (2015)
https://mega.nz/#!9YQjGIxC!HyKc16TVHhxl ... vWDFsLXpbU
Julian75
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:12 am

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:59 pm

:D Thanks for your work !
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:54 pm

Hi.
For some reason many games does not work for me. Even with same extension (tap) than others that do work.
For example, Pac-muncher and Invasions works, and Pac-Man (Pan/Personal Computer News) and Invaders (Program factory) among others do not.
Any clue?
Thanks.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:14 am

manguan wrote:
Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:54 pm
Pac-muncher and Invasion works
Pac-Man (Pan/Personal Computer News) and Invaders (Program factory) among others do not.
Just tested those games, and they all work for me.
have you edited the oricutron.cfg file?

it must contain the line "[options]"
like this...

[options]
machine= oric1
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:51 pm

Added two lines and same result.
Emulator does not start.
Well, not the same but worse: third pac-man (unknown) that worked before now stop and cursor flashes. :?
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:00 pm

This is my CFG file:

[options]
;
; Example config file for Oricutron
;

; ----------------------------------

; ROM files. (NOTE: For roms, DO NOT include the ".rom" file
; extension. These are added automatically.
; If a file with the same name, but with a ".sym" extension
; is found, symbols will be loaded from it and used in the
; debugger when the ROM in question is active.

; Filename of Oric Atmos ROM
;atmosrom = 'roms/basic11b'

; Filename of the Oric-1 ROM
;oric1rom = 'roms/basic10'

; Filename of the Microdisc ROM
;mdiscrom = 'roms/microdis'

; Filename of the Jasmin ROM
;jasmnrom = 'roms/jasmin'

; Filename of the Pravetz 8D ROM
;pravetzrom = 'roms/pravetzt'

; Filename of the Pravetz 8D disk ROM
;pravetz8drom = 'roms/8dos'

; Filename of ROMs for the telestrat banks
;telebank0 = ''
;telebank1 = ''
;telebank2 = ''
;telebank3 = ''
;telebank4 = ''
;telebank5 = 'roms/teleass'
;telebank6 = 'roms/hyperbas'
;telebank7 = 'roms/telmon24'

; ----------------------------------

; Type of machine to emulate (atmos, oric1, oric1-16k, telestrat, pravetz)
machine = oric1

; ----------------------------------

; Type of disk controller (none, microdisc, jasmin, pravetz)
disktype = none

; Write back all changes to disk images (if turned off, you have to press
; F7 to write changes back to the disk image)
diskautosave = yes

; ----------------------------------

; Start with this disk in drive 0 (backslash is an escape char to insert
; quotes, so double backslash is required to insert a backslash. You can use
; forward slash as a path seperator, even on windows.
;diskimage = 'disks/barbitoric.dsk'

; ----------------------------------

; Default path for tapes
;tapepath = 'tapes'

; Default path for atmos/oric-1 disks
;diskpath = 'disks'

; Default path for telestrat disks
;telediskpath = 'teledisks'

; Default path for pravetz disks
;pravdiskpath = 'pravdisks'

; ----------------------------------

; Start with this tape inserted
;tapeimage = 'tapes/cyclotron.tap'

; ----------------------------------

; Start Oricutron in the debugger? (yes/no)
debug = no

; Load these symbols into the debugger
;symbols = 'd:/osdk/my project/build/symbols'

; ----------------------------------

; Render mode (soft, opengl)
rendermode = soft

; Show scanlines? (yes/no)
scanlines = no

; Horizontal stretch? (yes/no) <-- opengl only
hstretch = no

; PAL ghosting? (yes/no) <-- opengl only
palghosting = yes

; Start fullscreen?
fullscreen = no

; Tell SDL to use a hardware surface? (might increase speed in fullscreen, or
; it might do nothing, or it might make it worse). (software rendering only)
hwsurface = no

; Force video display bit depth, either 16 or 32 (on some hardware, 16 can
; extremely slow, ie. eeepc clones). Normally Oricutron will guess the best
; one, but if it seems to be slow, try setting this to 16 or 32 to see if
; it makes a difference. (software rendering only)
;swdepth = 16

; ----------------------------------

; RAM pattern on powerup (0 or 1)
rampattern = 0

; ----------------------------------

; Lightpen (yes/no)
lightpen = no

; ACIA emulation back-end name:
; 'none' - no serial present
; 'loopback' - for testing - all TX data is returned to RX
; 'modem[:port][:ipv6]' - emulates com port with attached modem,
; only minimal AT command set is supported and
; data is redirected to TCP. Default port is 23 (telnet).
; if :ipv6 is added at the end uses IPv6 instead of IPv4
; 'com:115200,8,N,1,<device>' - use real or virtual <device> on host as emulated ACIA
; baudrate, data bits, parity and stop bits can be set as needed
; ex.: Windows: 'com:115200,8,N,1,COM1'
; Linux: 'com:115200,8,N,1,/dev/ttyUSB0'
serial = 'none'

; Joystick interface for Atmos/Oric-1 mode. Telestrat has its own built-in standard.
; Options are 'none', 'altai', 'pase' or 'ijk'
joyinterface = altai

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the above interface
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN' (where n is 0 to 9)
joystick_a = kbjoy1
joystick_b = none

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the telestrat
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN', 'mouse'
telejoy_a = kbjoy1
telejoy_b = none

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 1
; NOTE: "fire2" is only available on telestrat
kbjoy1_up = 'KP8'
kbjoy1_down = 'KP2'
kbjoy1_left = 'KP4'
kbjoy1_right = 'KP6'
kbjoy1_fire1 = 'KP_ENTER'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'N'

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 2
kbjoy2_up = 'W'
kbjoy2_down = 'S'
kbjoy2_left = 'A'
kbjoy2_right = 'D'
kbjoy2_fire1 = 'SPACE'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'N'
palghost= no

; Visual keyboard
;show_keyboard = yes
;sticky_mod_keys = yes
;autoload_keyboard_mapping = 'keymap/my_keymap.kma'
[options]
machine= oric1
rendermode= soft
scanlines= no
hstretch= no
palghost= no
fullscreen= no
lightpen= no
joyinterface= altai
joystick_a= kbjoy1
joystick_b= none
telejoy_a= kbjoy1
telejoy_b= none
kbjoy1_up= 'KP8'
kbjoy1_down= 'KP2'
kbjoy1_left= 'KP4'
kbjoy1_right= 'KP6'
kbjoy1_fire1= 'KP_ENTER'
kbjoy2_fire2= 'N'
kbjoy2_up= 'W'
kbjoy2_down= 'S'
kbjoy2_left= 'A'
kbjoy2_right= 'D'
kbjoy2_fire1= 'SPACE'
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1735
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:34 pm

you seem to have [options] twice in your config.
this is my copy.

Code: Select all

[options]
;
; Example config file for Oricutron
;

;                 ----------------------------------

; ROM files. (NOTE: For roms, DO NOT include the ".rom" file
; extension. These are added automatically.
; If a file with the same name, but with a ".sym" extension
; is found, symbols will be loaded from it and used in the
; debugger when the ROM in question is active.

; Filename of Oric Atmos ROM
;atmosrom = 'roms/basic11b'

; Filename of the Oric-1 ROM
;oric1rom = 'roms/basic10'

; Filename of the Microdisc ROM
;mdiscrom = 'roms/microdis'

; Filename of the Jasmin ROM
;jasmnrom = 'roms/jasmin'

; Filename of the Pravetz 8D ROM
;pravetzrom = 'roms/pravetzt'

; Filename of the Pravetz 8D disk ROM
;pravetz8drom = 'roms/8dos'

; Filename of ROMs for the telestrat banks
;telebank0 = ''
;telebank1 = ''
;telebank2 = ''
;telebank3 = ''
;telebank4 = ''
;telebank5 = 'roms/teleass'
;telebank6 = 'roms/hyperbas'
;telebank7 = 'roms/telmon24'

;                 ----------------------------------

; Type of machine to emulate (atmos, oric1, oric1-16k, telestrat, pravetz)
machine = oric1

;                 ----------------------------------

; Type of disk controller (none, microdisc, jasmin, pravetz)
disktype = none

; Write back all changes to disk images (if turned off, you have to press
; F7 to write changes back to the disk image)
diskautosave = yes

;                 ----------------------------------

; Start with this disk in drive 0 (backslash is an escape char to insert
; quotes, so double backslash is required to insert a backslash. You can use
; forward slash as a path seperator, even on windows.
;diskimage = 'disks/barbitoric.dsk'

;                 ----------------------------------

; Default path for tapes
;tapepath = 'tapes'

; Default path for atmos/oric-1 disks
;diskpath = 'disks'

; Default path for telestrat disks
;telediskpath = 'teledisks'

; Default path for pravetz disks
;pravdiskpath = 'pravdisks'

;                 ----------------------------------

; Start with this tape inserted
;tapeimage = 'tapes/cyclotron.tap'

;                 ----------------------------------

; Start Oricutron in the debugger? (yes/no)
debug = no

; Load these symbols into the debugger
;symbols = 'd:/osdk/my project/build/symbols'

;                 ----------------------------------

; Render mode (soft, opengl)
rendermode = soft

; Show scanlines? (yes/no)
scanlines = no

; Horizontal stretch? (yes/no)  <-- opengl only
hstretch = no

; PAL ghosting? (yes/no)  <-- opengl only
palghosting = yes

; Start fullscreen?
fullscreen = no

; Tell SDL to use a hardware surface? (might increase speed in fullscreen, or
; it might do nothing, or it might make it worse). (software rendering only)
hwsurface = no

; Force video display bit depth, either 16 or 32 (on some hardware, 16 can
; extremely slow, ie. eeepc clones). Normally Oricutron will guess the best
; one, but if it seems to be slow, try setting this to 16 or 32 to see if
; it makes a difference. (software rendering only)
;swdepth = 16

;                 ----------------------------------

; RAM pattern on powerup (0 or 1)
rampattern = 0

;                 ----------------------------------

; Lightpen (yes/no)
lightpen = no

; ACIA emulation back-end name:
;   'none' - no serial present
;   'loopback' - for testing - all TX data is returned to RX
;   'modem[:port][:ipv6]' - emulates com port with attached modem,
;                    only minimal AT command set is supported and
;                    data is redirected to TCP. Default port is 23 (telnet).
;                    if :ipv6 is added at the end uses IPv6 instead of IPv4
;   'com:115200,8,N,1,<device>' - use real or virtual <device> on host as emulated ACIA
;                   baudrate, data bits, parity and stop bits can be set as needed
;     ex.:  Windows: 'com:115200,8,N,1,COM1'
;           Linux:   'com:115200,8,N,1,/dev/ttyUSB0'
serial = 'none'

; Joystick interface for Atmos/Oric-1 mode. Telestrat has its own built-in standard.
; Options are 'none', 'altai', 'pase' or 'ijk'
joyinterface = altai

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the above interface
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN' (where n is 0 to 9)
joystick_a = kbjoy1
joystick_b = none

; How to emulate joysticks attached to the telestrat
; Options are 'none', 'kbjoy1', 'kbjoy2', 'sdljoyN', 'mouse'
telejoy_a = kbjoy1
telejoy_b = none

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 1
; NOTE: "fire2" is only available on telestrat
kbjoy1_up = 'KP8'
kbjoy1_down = 'KP2'
kbjoy1_left = 'KP4'
kbjoy1_right = 'KP6'
kbjoy1_fire1 = 'KP_ENTER'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'N'

; Keys to emulate joystick, set 2
kbjoy2_up = 'W'
kbjoy2_down = 'S'
kbjoy2_left = 'A'
kbjoy2_right = 'D'
kbjoy2_fire1 = 'SPACE'
kbjoy2_fire2 = 'N'
palghost= no

; Visual keyboard
;show_keyboard = yes
;sticky_mod_keys = yes
;autoload_keyboard_mapping = 'keymap/my_keymap.kma'
manguan
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: Spain
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: Gamebase Oric V3.0

Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:40 pm

Well. With your cfg the Pacman game that stop working works perfectly now. But the games among others mentioned before are still not working.

It's curious. If I open the file invaders.tap directly in Oricutron and type cload"" the game works normally. But the quotes are not in the emulator in the same place as in my keyboard. In oricutron, to get quotes, I have to press shif plus dieresis (¨) and not shift plus 2 as in my keyboard. It won't have anything to do with the mapping of the keyboard or the script? Just a question...

Thanks.

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests