Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

Memotech MTX Gamebase

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

hardmanm
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:03 am

Memotech MTX Gamebase

Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:12 pm

Happy New Year everyone at Gamebaseland, i have created this little gamebase of the Memotech MTX 500/512 series for you, it has just over a 100 games in it, all the ones i could find.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/470uf8

It weighs in at 16MB, so its very small, enjoy :)
Gamebase Developer
User avatar
OX
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:11 pm

A nice surprise Mark, thanks for this :D
Hidron
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: USA
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:05 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:24 am

Has anyone else been having trouble getting games started on this? I have been using primarily my Win7-64bit system for gamebases, but tested this on my old WinXP-32bit box too (wanted to know if it was Win7).

A lot of games seem to get stuck in the Memu Video window when launching from the gamebase.

Code: Select all

LOAD~~



Not a string
I took a look at the script file, and noticed the symbols after LOAD should both be quotes ""
I can change them to quotes (inside the emulator window), press Enter, and the game starts. Any idea why the emulator may be getting the wrong symbols passed on to it?
I have a lot of respect for Gamebase creators, maintainers & supporters.
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:19 am

Hi,

I have changed the "" into @@ in the script because thats whats the equiv
of the ""keys in the emulator.


Works ok now !

Thanx Mark 8)

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
User avatar
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:51 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:40 pm

Nice one. Thank You Mark !
I love those old Gems :D
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
User avatar
OX
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:06 pm

Anyone manage to get "Revenge of the chamberoids" working? Seen this on an MTX website but can't make sense of it -

A 3D isometric game, by Chris Sawyer, for Megastar Games. Use number pad 7,9,1,3 to move. Looks very similar to Sepulcri Scelerati, but borrows from the coloured rooms, doors and keys ideas of Chamberoids. To load this, copy REVCHAMBER2.mtx to default.mtx and then LOAD "REVCHAMBER" from within MEMU. It won't work specifying the .mtx on the command line, because the first part uses LOAD "" to load the second part.
Hidron
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: USA
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:05 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:11 pm

Thanks for that tip Sjakie. That solved the problem.

Also, thank you hardmanm for another fine gamebase for my collection.
I have a lot of respect for Gamebase creators, maintainers & supporters.
User avatar
OX
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:05 pm

Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:28 pm

Updated version here contains joystick support via xpadder (will need to select your control device for the MTX configuration), added missing database info and fixed non working games, changed quotes for {C34} should now work on international keyboard setups.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/4h075r
hardmanm
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:03 am

Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:17 am

OX wrote:Updated version here contains joystick support via xpadder (will need to select your control device for the MTX configuration), added missing database info and fixed non working games, changed quotes for {C34} should now work on international keyboard setups.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/4h075r
Thanks OX for the update
Gamebase Developer
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:15 pm

Hi,

After the update i have the no string problem again....

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:32 pm

sjakie43 wrote: After the update i have the no string problem again....
That's due to the non UK keyboard.
the ASCII code that the Gambase script uses will be different on USA / German keyboards.

change the all the {c34} to @ (or the equivalent code on your keyboard) in ALL the scripts

example
Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([1]load{C34}{C34}{enter}[2]goto 3{enter}{PAUSE}||50)


Run_Emulator_Send_Keys([1]load@@{enter}[2]goto 3{enter}{PAUSE}||50)
Hidron
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: USA
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:05 pm

Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:10 pm

I had already just changed mine back to use the @'s

It would still be nice for scripts that would work internationally. I wouldn't want a new or inexperienced gamebaser to be turned off of a good frontend just because of a small issue like this.
I have a lot of respect for Gamebase creators, maintainers & supporters.
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1960
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:59 pm

Hidron wrote: It would still be nice for scripts that would work internationally. I wouldn't want a new or inexperienced gamebaser to be turned off of a good frontend just because of a small issue like this.
Only way round it would be to make a global keyset for every keyboard.
if key=german run emulator with these sendkeys.
if key=french run emulator with these sendkeys.

but even that wouldn't fix it 100%
as you are running emulators with pre defined keymaps coded in.

so if you wanted to type "run Zork" via script on a german keyboard you would need make the script type "run York".

in most cases you can getaway with running the gamebase filename from the command line, in emulators that have the option.
but for those emulators that don't have a command line option, or need a special command typing in.
every user will have to edit the script / gemus according to their keyboard.

Not a big deal, as you have already done it yourself. :wink:
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:29 pm

Thanks Mad,


I already tried it but i forgot to do the other script :oops:

Regards

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
KrazyKanuck
Keen Member
Keen Member
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:53 am

Re: Memotech MTX Gamebase

Sun Dec 15, 2019 3:40 pm

Does anyone have a working link to this gamebase?

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests