Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

N64 Gamebase

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:27 pm

K.C.: tnx for reply and instructions - it works :)

Option "Use Short (8.3) Filenames" solves problem with Project64 v1.6, great :)

1964 runs games automatically with no freezing if You use "1964 svn r41", here it is upped by me:

Code: Select all

http://rapidshare.com/files/323673085/1964_11.RAR
arthur_gill@hotmaIl.com
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 1:19 pm

N64 probs.

Mon May 10, 2010 12:46 pm

I have a machine with a mix of various 1.3 betas, and also the last stable official release (1.2), all running in my standalone relative path style.
I have encountered a prob, and I am not sure where to start.

The last Gamebase I ran that I used the latest 1.3 beta with was GBA gamebase.
No probs, I used the GBRegrun util to get things going as it would not work without it.
I came into work today after downloading the N64 gamebase.
I did my usual, put everything in the normal locations, and copied the same things to the same places.

I tried to run the N64 gamebase and got a complaint about the gemus script, but it related to the GBA folder structure.
ok, weird.
I then in the background decided (while the N64 gamebase was open!!!) to move the GBA gamebase folder and all it's contents to a holding pen prior to burning to Bluray. I got a 'file is in use, try again>?' (I am running win 7, much more helpful when you have a locked open file). I closed the N64 gamebase, selected try again, and lo' it worked.
I think the new GBRegrun is quite different from the previous version of Gamabase as you might need to run it EVER TIME for each differnt 1.3 gamebase to re-register the dll locations to the specific folder structure for each different gamebase? If this is the case, this 'really' needs addressing as the 1.2 version just seemed to do this in the background after it was pointed out that certain dll's and ocx.s if moved or relocated broke the frontend.

drive letters and folders are now giving odd random errors when running Gamebases that ran fine before, I now however have two gamebeases that I have run the GBRegRun against. My pc is not happy.
arthur_gill@hotmaIl.com
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 1:19 pm

biggest error I get now

Mon May 10, 2010 12:49 pm

this is against a Gamebase that ran fine....
Run-time error '-2147024770 (8007007e)':
Automation error
the specified module could not be found.
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Mon May 10, 2010 4:37 pm

i don't have Windows 7...
But i would uninstall Gamebase and start again with this version.
you might have a mix of old and new dll's corrupting it somehow.

i know how you like your setup stand alone, but the install might fix your problem.

it's worth a go at any rate. :wink:
arthur_gill@hotmaIl.com
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 1:19 pm

I ...

Tue May 11, 2010 1:00 pm

...attempted to re-register the' core' dll's etc.
I had to do this 'as administrator', and things still did not work.
hm...
so I ran gamebase.exe (with no other changes) 'as administrator' and it
started to work again.
I think this will resolve itself when automatic dll/ocx registration upon launch of gamebase is fixed and running with elevated permissions/priviliges is taken into consideration.

Regards,
Arthur.
arthur_gill@hotmaIl.com
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 1:19 pm

new topic perhaps, or even thread?

Tue May 11, 2010 3:06 pm

windows 7 is definately giving problems. some obvious - some not so.

If I run gamebase standard, it launches but I see the 'play game' tab is greyed out.
If I run it 'as administrator', I get the UAC prompt (are you sure you want this program to make changes to this computer), then the 'play game' tab is not greyed out...

hmmmmmmmm.
This is ver 1.2 'standard'
Jimbo
Cool Member
Cool Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:50 pm

Tue May 11, 2010 3:36 pm

Hi Arthur,

- always install out of program files directory
- always run as administrator
- try always running with GBRegRun.exe instead of GameBase.exe

These are the 3 things I would suggest. I believe others have GB running on Win7 without any problems.

Cheers

James
dax
Ice Cool Member
Ice Cool Member
Location: Poland
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 1:45 pm

Tue May 11, 2010 11:19 pm

I had problems with GameBase on Windows 7 x64 either (grayed PLAY GAME field), but I ran it first time as administrator and it does help.


I had no problems with:

- Favourites, previously I used 30 Gamebase compilations with GB v1.2, now I use these 30 Gamebase's with v1.3, Favourites were not imported by me to GameBase and I don't have a problem (all Favourites visible).

- Program Files directory, GameBase installed in "C:\Program Files (x86)" and I use paths to my collection of Gamebase's on E: (no errors when I use this path)


I suppose we should not install it to "Program Files" on Win'7 only because of standard (less) permissions to this folder, right ?

I posted this info only for other Win'7 users, not to report anything ;)
Fiery Phoenix
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:07 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri May 18, 2018 5:19 pm

Given Underground Games has gone - any new links for this Gamebase?

Many thanks'
teknik666
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:29 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:31 am

hello guys.
thank you for your great effort in making and sharing these rare diamonds
i would also want to ask for new links for nintendo 64 gamebase
thank you in advance and keep up the great work!!!
Nick
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:53 pm

Fiery Phoenix wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 5:19 pm
any new links for this Gamebase?
Just dusted off my old HD, and found the PJ64 emulator has really improved over the last few years.
so it is worth re-uploading.

The MDB uses the GOODN64 v3.21 rom set.
files named like this...
"007 - GoldenEye (U) [!].z64"

PM me for the GOOD links, if you can't find them.

The main setup be uploaded soon.
teknik666
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:29 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:46 pm

.mad. wrote:
Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:53 pm

Just dusted off my old HD, and found the PJ64 emulator has really improved over the last few years.
so it is worth re-uploading.

The MDB uses the GOODN64 v3.21 rom set.
files named like this...
"007 - GoldenEye (U) [!].z64"

PM me for the GOOD links, if you can't find them.

The main setup be uploaded soon.
we're waiting for you MAD ! :)
Fiery Phoenix
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:07 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri Jul 20, 2018 5:33 pm

Looking forward!
User avatar
.mad.
Highly Commended Member
Highly Commended Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:20 pm

https://mega.nz/#!ngxDgQAT!T5-UEehG4uYq ... 87KIknExcc

if i get the free time...
updated hi-res screenshot pack will follow.
Attachments
n64.GIF
n64.GIF (4.55 KiB) Viewed 1243 times
teknik666
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:29 am

Re: N64 Gamebase

Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:38 pm

.mad. wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:20 pm
https://mega.nz/#!ngxDgQAT!T5-UEehG4uYq ... 87KIknExcc

if i get the free time...
updated hi-res screenshot pack will follow.
Thank you mad!! :)

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests