Welcome to the Gamebase 64 forums.                 An attempt to document ALL Commodore 64 gameware before it's too late!

gamebase amstrad cpc

Discuss any other databases that use the GameBase Frontend, whether in pre development, development or publically released.

Moderator: Jimbo

sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

CPC

Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:57 pm

Hi,

I have downloaded the V13 and unpacked it.
It seems that a lot of files are missing,how come?

Games not found: 139/1306
Tunes not found: 71/788
Pictures not found: 109/1305
extras not found: 464/5140

Is this correct?

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:33 pm

@skajie43 : this is pretty weird, I unpacked the files, ran the verification & everything is fine (aside from the undumped games & restricted extras).
Anyone else has the same problem ?
User avatar
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:51 pm

Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:44 pm

Well, i've just unpacked my *.rar's....

32 Games & 5 Extras are missing.....
I'll try it again :wink:
Last edited by Vicman on Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:52 pm

@vicman: this is normal, these 32 games are undumped. Hopefully I can put my hands on them at a later time... As for the extras, they are restricted to people who bought Orion Prime & the author does not want them spread.
Cheers,

Loïc
User avatar
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:51 pm

Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:30 pm

o.k. :wink: Had the same resultat on a second try :D
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

CPC

Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:11 pm

Hi,

Wel i'm confused here/... :cry:

Should i overwrite the V12 with V13 then?
In the V12 everything is ok!

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
sjakie43
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 323
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 2:53 pm

CPC

Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Hi Again,

V12 was the problem cause i have it in the v1.2 Gamebase !
Paths where automaticly filled in to the V13 of CPC Gamebase.
Everythings perfect now!

Thanx for this V13 Idaneels 8)

Sjakie43
Demobase Creator

Ultimate 64 in transparant Case+led
C64 Breadbin+SidFX+Ultimate1541-II+ with Tape Expansion
Vic-20+Mega Cart+Tapuino
C64 Maxi with Vic20 mode :shock:



and more....
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:37 pm

Glad you could figure it out.
Enjoy,

Loïc
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:09 am

Just for fun

i have tweaked Loïc Daneels CPC Gamebase.

This is not intended as being released as MY WORK.
or to be used as a replacement.
This is just a small update of Loïc's hard work.
Please accept this, in the spirit that it is intended.

Updated Screenshots
Removed borders and resized most of them to 320x200.

Large box covers
converted to thumbnail size and used as screen shot.
*The large covers are still available as Extras in PDF files.

Crunched all PNG files.

Settings.ini (larger screen window)

NEW
Gfx folder
Splash screen with sound.

Original Size = 1.90GB
This Version = 38.4MB

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=DA83Y6Q6

-------------
Loïc
Hope you like it.
feel free to use what you like. :wink:
User avatar
Retroplay
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Denmark
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:18 pm

Tue Mar 16, 2010 2:33 pm

Excellent just excellent :D

Btw I loaded up the database in Access and removed all the (E), (F) etc tags from the game names.

If anybody wants it you can get it here
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:44 pm

I love the new splash screen ! I will be using it from now on :) Thanks for making it, it is much appreciated.
As for the pictures, I personally think too much is lost in the resize, but it does save a huge amount of space ! I guess it all comes down to preference, but at least users now have a choice :)
Thanks for all the hard work you guys are doing to improve GBCPC.
As for the change in naming conventions, I am still unsure on whether to implement it. I know it is a duplicate of the language field, but I kind of like it... What do you guys think ?
Cheers,

Loïc
User avatar
.mad.
Respected Member
Respected Member
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:30 pm

Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:26 pm

Your very welcome.
i am glad you like it. :D

99% of screen shots loose no detail whatsoever. :?
each pixel is intact, only reduced from size 4x4 to 1x1.

if you click on a screen from gamebase to zoom in.
you will see the exact same picture as your original.
(minus the blue border of course.)

only the Hi-Res Text Adventures that use the 80 column font
loose a tiny amount of detail.

But if you mean the box covers, then yes i agree they do loose all of their detail.
However they are duplicated in the extras. :wink:

-----------------

i have noticed an error.
On my PC Caprice32 fails to load.

as SKYX uses the Gemus to select this emulator as default.
i need to change the emulators.ini as follows

Emulators.ini

EmulatorPathFile=C:\Program Files\GameBase\Amstrad CPC\Emulators\Caprice32\cap32.exe

then edit these lines in CAP32.CFG (in the emulator DIR)

Code: Select all


[system]
keyboard=0

[video]
scr_width=640
scr_height=480
scr_bpp=32
scr_style=1
scr_window=1

[control]
kbd_layout=0



This runs the emu in a window and selects a UK/USA keyboard.
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:14 am

Thanks for that. As a side note & for all Windows Vista users, it seems Caprice32 does not work with multi-core CPUs. There are no problems with XP or Windows 7, though.
Cheers,

Loïc
ldaneels
Keen Member
Keen Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 3:30 pm

Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:52 am

Hi everybody,
I just opened a Facebook Gamebase CPC group. you can join & post at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=1 ... 282&ref=mf
I intend to post regular updates concerning the project.
As an added treat, there's an extra bit of juicy info for those joining the group :)

Loïc
User avatar
Vicman
Cool Member
Cool Member
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 7:51 pm

Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:16 am

nice idea, just joined it :wink:
GB done: Philips VG 5000, Sord-M5, Acorn Atom, Enterprise v1.00

Return to “Other GameBase Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests